Journey’s Greatest Hits

I was sitting at a stoplight. While the light glowed red and certain, Journey’s Greatest Hits played in the CD player of my 2001 Chevy Blazer and I had a minor mid-life crisis. For the first time in my 35 years I felt the wrench of time lost. The lyrics, “Only the young can say/They’re free to fly away/Sharing the same desires/
Burnin like wildfire…
” created a physical reaction in my chest. The realization that I was permanently past that time in my life when everything is possible and new felt like getting the wind knocked out of my lungs; my heart actually shuddered against my ribcage. It hurt. I was permanently past having the freedom to be passionate and headstrong and not give a damn about retribution. The consequences now are so much bigger….so much more REAL.

The light turned green and I headed home towards my loving husband and warm home, to my grown up job and responsibilities.

But I still had the drive home, and until I pulled into the driveway, I was young again…I was singing at the top of my lungs and let loose. Maybe it isn’t about what I felt I lost, but recognizing what I learned and where I am now. Perhaps there is a sense of freedom in that too.

2 thoughts on “Journey’s Greatest Hits

  1. Mid-life crises! Sometime I feel like I am stucked. I realize where I am and feel like I have not gone anywhere (meaning have not improved myself) or can not go anywhere. Keep writing, JoJo. As long as you are doing, you are having a great jorney and it will take you somewhere and set you free from your current primary job.

    • Thank you Chiyoko…I think you are an amazing person. And you have done some pretty cool things.
      “It is by going down into the abyss that we recover the treasures of life. Where you stumble, there lies your treasure.”
      Joseph Campbell
      Keep stumbling…Chiyoko san.

Leave a Reply

