Writing Exercise #3

Page 15: “Person, Place and Song”

1. Melissa had been a soccer, Girl Scout and home room Mom all before she could legally drink. The first time she heard the song, “Bitch” by Meredith Brooks, she was driving her brand new Chevy Blazer down Poedeldorfer Strasse in Bamberg, Germany. She pressed the electric window button and let the September air, filled with the smells of breweries and dead leaves, assail her. She was 28 years old, married nearly twelve years to a man nearly twelve years her senior. She lived with him and his two children from a previous marriage in the fourth floor of a military apartment off post. The girls were getting older and didn’t need her around as much lately. Fine with her. Melissa felt every word of the song hit her chest, waking a long dormant soul. “I’m a bitch, I’m a lover, I’m a child, I’m a mother, I’m a sinner, I’m a saint…”

“For sure.” She thought. A voice inside somewhere called to her, begging her to remember her dreams, goals, her life. “I’m still here, I’m still waiting!” it said to her. Melissa took a deep breath as she steeled herself against the reunion.

Leave a Reply

