Inspiration

Hey there! Thank you for stopping by. The reason I decided to start a blog…and fill out a business license application tonight is all due to Steven Pressfield and he has no idea. I am currently reading “The War of Art” by Mr. Pressfield and it has been the floaties on the arms of my bravery. Check out this site:

http://www.stevenpressfield.com

This blog is mostly a place for me to try out my short story ideas, post random thoughts and just write. I have an order entry job in a fairly normal office and it is draining all creativity out of my life…which is actually what I think these jobs are designed to do to avoid any rebellion within the group.

I am married to a great guy and we live in an old farmhouse in WA that is under constant renovation. It is also the house in which he and his ex-wife raised their kids. They were married for 25 years. He is 13 years my senior and in 2008 at 34 years old, I became a step-grandma. I skipped a whole level…that is cool right? No. Not cool. I don’t even have any kids of my own. It’s so unconventional but it is my life and for what it’s worth…I love my life. It’s not as unconventional as his ex-wife wanting to be “Besties” with me but that is another story for another time. We have some pets…Margie is our three-year old Shi’tzu and who I named my new business after: Margie Ink. I hope to use this as a catalyst to my writing every day…it is a business…writing is my part-time job. Theoretically, and according to Mr. Pressfield, I’ll actually write every day if I think of it as a “job” and that I am a “pro.”  The book should be called the “Art of Obligation” but that might have been a turn-off to some folks.

Anyway…Margie is our dog and since blog rhymes so nicely with dog, I stuck with the theme and named my new blog after her as well.  We also have an outside cat named Penelope (Penny), a rabbit named Beatrice (of course) and our newest member, a rescue cat named Mae Mobley (After the character in “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.)  http://www.kathrynstockett.com/ She is a 9 pound cat so my husband, who, since I’m naming everything, is named Carl, calls her Moby – as in the infamous whale but that is just because he likes to pretend he doesn’t like her. (He does.) Carl is also a huge inspiration to me…but that is every day and in every thing…not just following my heart.

So that is about all there is to tell for tonight…I hope my blogs help me improve the quality of my writing techniques and skill. I also sincerely hope that whomever (if anyone) actually reads any of my writings that they will honestly and without hesitation comment and critique whatever they want to. I am unafraid of critique and over the years have often re-written my own short stories to the point of three or four different endings. This is my new part-time job…day one; complete.

10 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Hi Jo-jo – I read it, even through your doubt, I pulled it together and read what you wrote. Very nice, and I am looking forward to the next chapter.

  2. I am very proud of you. I find that the older I get, the harder it is to take risks in life. But you are taking a big risk…following a dream! As I’ve always said, “You have a special way with words!” No use in wasting them. Share them…share them all. LOL

    I’m cheering for you chica!!!!!!

    B&B Forever <–you know what I mean.

    • You know it my friend…you know it! Thank you for being such an enthusiastic supporter…I hope we have a long friendship and a long life of adventures together!
      B&B Forever…BOOM.

  3. Thank you for vicariously letting me experience what it feels like for an ARTIST to finally release what has been inside for so long. I can honestly say I released my breath as I read your stories. You have embraced a realization that came mind this morning – Tomorrow never occurs within the 24 hours allotted to Today. You have seized Today! Your journey and works have been to me very cathartic as defined by definition 2 from the Merriam Webster Dictionary:

    ca·thar·sis noun \kə-ˈthär-səs\
    plural ca·thar·ses\-ˌsēz\
    Definition of CATHARSIS
    1: purgation
    2a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension.

    Thank you,

    Kathy

    • Wow. Thank you Kathy!! This has been a huge step for me. It is this awesome feeling in my heart to create again. Even though I originally wrote the “With My Regards” short story a few years ago; bringing it into the world was like “seeing” it all over again. I re-wrote/added/edited out a lot. Something about this story feels raw to me. I actually have three separate endings for it…I’ll post them in time. I want to do some new stuff and I haven’t actualy FELT like writing new things in a looong time. I used to write everyday…pounding away on a typerwriter in my room…like Scott Pressfield says about working on your art; if you do it every day, the Muse will find you. Dear God…I’m here and I’m ready.

      Thank you so much Kathy…it means so much that you read my writing and actually enjoyed it and even more so that it gave you some comfort. You are an amazing person and you are the catalyst to this all. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

